RECORD
Savoy Sweetness in the Centre of Florence
Caffè Rivoire, one of Florence's oldest historic cafés, stands on the corner of Piazza della Signoria and Via Vacchereccia. Originally conceived as a " Chocolate Steam Factory", the business was established in 1872 by the Waldensian Enrico Rivoire (1846-1920), originally from Angrogna in the Waldensian Valleys.
The café is on the ground floor of Palazzo Lavison, a building commissioned by Baron Edoardo Lavison and designed by architect Giovanni Carlo Landi. Thanks to his passion and his innate ability to attract a very select clientele, Enrico Rivoire quickly became established as an entrepreneur, helping Florentines - and others- discover and appreciate the delicacies of Piedmontese chocolate.
FURTHER INFORMATION
Included in: 25/07/2019Last edited in: 06/11/2019
PLACES OF INTEREST
Savoy Sweetness in the Centre of Florence